THE MICRO-WORLDS OF DADAVE

Dadave freezes some bygone eras of the electronic age by producing fixed forms in an entropic dynamic inscribed in a unit of time and action.  

 

This self-taught artist wears the clothes of archaeologist and sculptor to build his plastic research around the electronic components that collect, accumulate, dissect, assemble and order skilfully on wood support. After a first blank composition without glue, these recovery objects of a time already passed are connected again. These are cables, ducts, motherboards, keyboard keys, elements taken from cathode ray tubes, capacitors, integrated circuits ... Most of them produce abstract sculptures with geometric shapes. Different three-dimensional volumes with sometimes hypnotic effect. Some are erected like real towers of Babel composed of azerty keys, others reveal the famous apple of the computer manufacturer or the flag of Jasper Johns.

 

Dadave makes dialogue between the hand-made and the technology, always preserving the origin of the form and the color. Known objects with impaired functionality, now ineffective and unproductive, broaden the sense of the field of production of the digital age. Minutia, incessant race towards the smallest ... These micro-worlds are unveiled while preserving the mystery of their technicality. Where the known is transformed and where the same becomes other. It is not a question of decrypting but of being carried away by the relief, the volume, the roughness, the fragile flexibility that reveals itself to the touch. These assemblages of material variations concretize an abstract device that marries spherical or rectangular representations.

 

The artist sublimates their sculptural character by their redesigned assembly, reorganized by color and size. Arranged to influence each other, to answer each other, to contradict each other in their composition, their machining and their use, the components make sense together, in a new space of dialogue. The operation accesses a luminous identity, an addressed presence. The richness of the tones, the complexity of the fragments and the textures precipitates us in an enveloping immersion. A modeling of the real manufacturer the virtual. A technological approach, between the accident and the program that opens new doors and other dimensions.

 

The relevance and originality of the plastic vocabulary is also decrypted in aerial view. Megacities built from scratch of this obsolete computer material are like futuristic cities emerging from a film of anticipation. We can think of Arman's new compelling realism, Steven Rodrig's organic sculptures, Zayd Menk's recycled Manhattan, or Benjamin Von Wong's waste photos of e-waste.

 

In order to witness the history of a technology obsolete, this recycling of existing data is also an attempt to reconcile ecological and electronic lifestyles. Sorting using the past to testify in the present. Dadave's work questions memory, that of hidden data, and that of our times, which hoist these obsolete objects, stealthy avatars, into the status of works of art.

Caroline Canault

SHORT CIRCUITS

Printed circuits showing their shameless underwear, boned skeletons of computers and televisions, Dadave's art is the joyous archeology of our civilization.  

 

A quest for beauty and meaning from electronic waste that causes and reveals. Accumulation not very cathodic Entering the workshop, shapes and colors in the air and on the ground lead into a hypnotic round. We expected austere bits of silicon wise, here we are before reds, bruises, yellows and green tappers. Well hidden in sanitized housings, the unexpected charms of resistors, cables and other capacitors are only revealed after use. "Before any creation, I start by putting on television screens and computers" launches the artist accumulator uninhibited. Like ceramic beads or glitzy candies a little scoundrel, the extracted pieces are displayed on the shelves while waiting to form a work.

 

Fifty to a hundred computers are sometimes necessary to make a painting or a bas-relief.   The "Tower of Character" dominating a corner of the Montreuillois workshop, like a skyscraper covered with keyboards, contemplates the construction site of a polychrome city in printed circuits dotted with light diodes. The mega-cities of vertical buildings inspire Dadave, who likes to reproduce the silhouettes elongated with chalk. The regular rhythms and geometric shapes of the electronic components combine to form urban frescoes sometimes extending over several meters. Built on the remains of everyday objects, these monsters fascinate at the same time as they scare. On the ceiling, strange stars, shaggy balls of colored threads, oscillate between the organic and the sidereal. The walls are teeming with life in electric tones.

 

These learned compositions of electric ducts dance and come alive. Optical effects inspired by kinetic art give a sense of movement. Dadave wants to seduce the eye before giving sorting lessons. Bring an aesthetic sense to what was once utilitarian. In the early days of Bellevillois, reusing materials was first and foremost an economical way to create. Beyond the fight against waste, the creator is admiring the intelligence and work represented by these small nuggets of technology. Once out of order, the cold universe of technology gives way to the story of the designers and the successive users who marked the object. On the occasion of an exhibition of Dadave, it is not uncommon for an engineer to indulge in nostalgia.

David Dieudonné

cocode bon_edited.png

© Dadave 2019

Crédit photo :

Sebastian Rosenberg

Pierre Leblanc

LES MICRO-MONDES DE DADAVE

Dadave fige certaines époques révolues de l’ère électronique en produisant des formes fixes dans une dynamique entropique inscrite dans une unité de temps et d’action.

 

Cet artiste autodidacte endosse les habits d’archéologue et de sculpteur pour construire sa recherche plastique autour des composants électroniques qu’il collecte, accumule, dissèque, assemble et ordonnance savamment sur support bois. Après une 1ère composition à blanc sans colle, ces objets de récupération d’un temps déjà révolu sont à nouveau en connexion. Ce sont des câbles, des gaines, des cartes mères, des touches de clavier, des éléments prélevés des tubes cathodiques, des condensateurs, des circuits intégrés… La plupart engendrent des sculptures abstraites aux formes géométriques. Différents volumes tridimensionnels à l’effet parfois hypnotique. Certains s’érigent tels de véritables tours de Babel composées de touches azerty, d’autres révèlent la célèbre pomme du constructeur informatique ou encore le flag de Jasper Johns.

 

Dadave fait dialoguer le fait-main et la technologie en préservant toujours l’origine de la forme et de la couleur. Les objets connus aux fonctionnalités altérées, désormais inefficaces et improductifs, élargissent le sens du champ de production de l’ère du numérique. Minutie, course incessante vers le plus petit... Ces micro-mondes sont dévoilés en préservant le mystère de leur technicité. Là où le connu se transforme et où le même devient autre. Il ne s’agit pas de décrypter mais de se laisser porter par le relief, le volume, la rugosité, la souplesse fragile qui se révèle au toucher. Ces assemblages de variations de matières concrétisent un dispositif abstrait qui épouse les représentations sphériques ou rectangulaires.

 

L’artiste sublime leur caractère sculptural par leur assemblage repensé, réorganisé par la couleur et la taille. Agencés pour s’influencer, se répondre, se contredire dans leur composition, dans leur usinage et leur usage, les composants font sens ensemble, dans un nouvel espace de dialogue. L’opération accède à une identité lumineuse, une présence adressée. La richesse des tonalités, la complexité des fragments et des textures nous précipite dans une immersion enveloppante. Une modélisation du réel fabricant le virtuel. Une approche technologique, entre l’accident et le programme qui ouvre de nouvelles portes et d’autres dimensions.

 

La pertinence et l’originalité du vocabulaire plastique se décrypte également en vue aérienne. Des mégapoles fabriquées de toutes pièces de ce matériel informatique obsolète se dessinent telles de véritables cités futuristes sorties d’un film d’anticipation. On pense au nouveau réalisme compilé d’Arman, aux sculptures organiques de Steven Rodrig, au Manhattan recyclé de Zayd Menk, ou encore aux photos sur le gaspillage des e-déchets de Benjamin Von Wong.

Afin de témoigner de l’histoire d’une technologie vouée à l’obsolescence, ce recyclage de données existantes est aussi une tentative de réconcilier les modes de vie écologiques et électroniques. Un tri sélectif utilisant le passé pour témoigner dans le présent. Les travaux de Dadave interrogent sur la mémoire, celle des données cachées et celle de notre époque qui hisse ces objets obsolètes, avatars furtifs, au statut d’oeuvres d’art.

 

Caroline Canault

COURTS CIRCUITS

Circuits imprimés montrant sans pudeur leurs dessous, squelettes d'ordinateurs et de télévisions désossés, l’art de Dadave est l'archéologie joyeuse de notre civilisation.

 

Une quête de beauté et de sens à partir de déchets électroniques qui provoque et révèle. Accumulation pas très cathodique. En entrant dans l’atelier, formes et couleurs en l'air comme au sol entraînent dans une ronde hypnotique. On s attendait à d’austères bouts de silicium bien sages, nous voilà devant des rouges, des bleus, des jaunes et des verts aguicheurs. Bien cachés dans des boîtiers aseptisés, les charmes inattendus des résistances, câbles et autres condensateurs ne se révèlent qu’après usage. «Avant toute création, je commence par mettre à poil les écrans de télévisions et d'ordinateurs» lance l’artiste-accumulateur décomplexé. Telle des perles en céramique ou des bonbons rutilants un peu canaille, les pièces extraites s’exhibent sur les étagères en attendant de former une oeuvre. Cinquante à cent ordinateurs sont parfois nécessaires pour réaliser un tableau ou un bas-relief.

 

La « Tour au caractères » dominant un coin de l’atelier montreuillois, tel un gratte-ciel couvert de touches de claviers, contemple le chantier d’une ville polychrome en circuits imprimés parsemé de diodes lumineuses. Les grandes mégalopoles de buildings verticaux inspirent Dadave, qui aime en reproduire les silhouettes allongées au cordeau. Les rythmes réguliers et les formes géométriques des composants électroniques se combinent pour former des fresques urbaines s’étendant parfois sur plusieurs mètres. Bâtis sur les dépouilles d’objets du quotidien, ces monstres fascinent en même temps qu’ils effraient. Au plafond, des astres étranges, pelotes hirsutes de fils de couleurs, oscillent entre l'organique et le sidéral. Les murs grouillent d'une vie aux tons électriques.

 

Ces savantes compositions de gaines électriques dansent et s’animent. Les effets d’optique inspirés de l’art cinétique donnent un sentiment de mouvement. Dadave veut séduire l’oeil avant de donner des leçons de tri. Apporter un sens esthétique à ce qui était auparavant utilitaire. A ses débuts bellevillois, réutiliser des matériaux était d abord un moyen économique de créer. Au-delà de la lutte contre le gaspillage, le créateur se dit admiratif de l’intelligence et du travail représentés par ces petites pépites de la technologie. Une fois hors d’usage, l’univers froid de la technologie fait place à l'histoire des concepteurs et des utilisateurs successifs qui ont marqués l'objet. A l’occasion d’une exposition de Dadave, il n’est pas rare qu’un ingénieur se laisse aller à la nostalgie.

David Dieudonné

cocode bon_edited.png

© Dadave 2019

Crédit photo :

Sebastian Rosenberg

Pierre Leblanc